Skip to content

Sippin’ on Horchata

October 17, 2011

This weekend I made a batch of Horchata; a rice based Mexican drink very popular at Tacqueria’s and Mexican restaurants here in California. Personally, I have never been a huge fan of Horchata; mostly because of the overly sweet flavor and slightly grainy texture of the versions I have tried. So why on earth did you make it you might ask? Well, it happens to be one of Jason’s favorite drinks and when I stumbled upon a version adapted by the king of ice cream himself, David Lebovitz, I thought how bad could this really be? Oh…my…creamy…cinnamony goodness! This recipe makes the smoothest most delicate Horchata I have ever sipped or should I say…chugged!

{Photo by Freutcake }

Freutcake notes on Horchata: Grinding rice in a blender is a bit harder than it sounds, unless of course you have a very strong blender! I might try a food processor for my next batch of Horchata! Also, I tried this recipe using both regular 2% milk and using rice milk as David recommends here. I preferred the creamier version using regular cows milk as it tasted more traditional. If you use rice milk, you may want to adjust the amount of added sugar as this version is a bit sweeter!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 17, 2011 2:54 pm

    Oh I’d def do this version. The sweeter the better 🙂 sounds fab!

Leave a Reply

