Skip to content

Friday + Chocolate Chips

September 16, 2011

Happy Friday friends! Do you have any fun plans for the weekend? Jason and I are attending this wedding where I plan on enjoying one of these tasty concoctions. (hehe) But before I sign out of blog-land for the day I want to introduce you to a new Freutcake column called “Jason’s Picks”. You may remember me mentioning my husbands very picky taste buds on Monday. Well let’s just say that hubby wasn’t so happy with the way he was portrayed in that post. (Who woulda thunk it?) So in honor of my traditionalist husband, here is a recipe for one of his favorite sweet breakfast treats: Chocolate Chip Banana Bread. Baking him a loaf was the least I could do after his not so rave Freutcake review!

{photos by freutcake}

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread– adapted from Martha Stewart

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, at room temperature, plus more for pan
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 cups unbleached flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup mashed very ripe bananas
1/2 cup sour cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter and line a loaf pan with parchment; set aside. In an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, and beat to incorporate. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Add to the butter mixture, and mix until just combined. Add bananas, sour cream, and vanilla; mix to combine. Stir in chocolate chips, and pour into prepared pan. Bake until a cake tester inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean, about 1 hour  to 1 hour 10 min. Let rest in pan for 10 minutes, then turn out onto a rack to cool.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2011 11:31 am

    Jason has great taste 🙂

  2. September 16, 2011 1:29 pm

    Go Jason!
    I love the way your banana bread looks before it gets baked, that’s the part that makes me feel like staying home and being cozy…It’s the color and texture that does it for me and the little chocolate chips make it so special just like my cousin!

    • September 16, 2011 2:07 pm

      Aw that’s so cute Michele! And I agree, this bread calls for lots of cozy home time!

  3. September 16, 2011 4:22 pm

    I can’t wait to try this! Anything chocolate and I’m there!

    • September 17, 2011 10:41 am

      Let me know what you think! The cream cheese and chocolate chips make this so deliciously rich!

Leave a Reply

