Skip to content

A Spicy Snack

August 10, 2011

You may remember me mentioning my quest for healthy snacks back in May when I first posted Chili-Sauce Kale Chips…well my quest is not complete. I still search for new and exciting snack ideas that keep the cravings down and balance all the sweet things I bake. These little chickpeas found over on My New Roots are the most recent addition to my snacking list. They are crunchy, spicy and very full of flavor! I like them served up hot for a satisfying midday snack.

{photo by Freutcake}

Spicy Chickpeas– Recipe via My New Roots

3 cups or 2 cans chickpeas – drained, rinsed & patted dry
4 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1 tsp. coarse sea salt
1 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp. ground cumin
1/2 tsp. cayenne pepper
2 tsp. dried thyme
1 cup shelled pistachios (I left out the pistachios this time)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
2. Place the chickpeas in a medium bowl and discard any loose skins. Toss with olive oil, salt, black pepper, cumin & cayenne until evenly coated.
3. Spread the chickpeas on a large rimmed baking sheet and bake, stirring occasionally, until golden and crisp. This takes about 25 minutes.
4. Remove from the oven and add the pistachios and thyme. Bake until crunchy, about 10 minutes more. Let cool and serve at room temperature. * This is where I vary from the recipe, I prefer them eaten when hot.

For more nutritional info on this recipe visit My New Roots.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 10, 2011 9:51 am

    Um, hello new snack! Totally making these. Yummy.

  2. thefauxmartha permalink
    August 10, 2011 4:43 pm

    These look so good! I need some asap!

  3. MaryAnne permalink
    August 10, 2011 9:59 pm

    Wow! Those sound great!

Leave a Reply

