Skip to content

Abstract Inspiration

July 6, 2011

Last Friday we spent our evening at the Norton Simon Museum in Pasadena. I have to say, going to museums may be my new favorite things to do on a Friday night! I simply love wandering about, oohing and awing over fabulous pieces of art. And this trip, I was pleasantly surprised to find a small but inspiring exhibit of Abstract Paintings from the 1960’s on display. I loved all of the unabashedly bright colors and bold patterns I saw. A break from the traditional and a sweet surprise indeed.

{photos by Freutcake}

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2011 9:57 am

    Oh Yes, now you are talking…some art from the New York Abstract School of Painters to visit on a Friday night! Awesome!!!!! Is that Frank Stella in the entrance of the exhibit? This school of painting changed the visual reality of our world! I am so pleased as pie to see this viewing on Freutcake!

    Thanks for bringing color into my day!
    Michele

    • July 6, 2011 12:40 pm

      Yes indeed that is Frank Stella! Good eye Michele…but then again I would expect nothing less from an artist like you! xoxo

  2. July 6, 2011 6:11 pm

    I’m so embarrassed to admit I know nothing about art – but I do know bright & bold colors make me happy. Those are awesome!

Leave a Reply

