Skip to content

Craving: Red Velvet Brownies

May 23, 2011

This weekend I temporarily lost my baking mojo. I burnt a batch of caramel, ruined shortbread and my pizza dough was a disaster. What was happening? Why did my favorite past time turn on me? …Sunday night rolled around and I felt the need to redeem myself with one last recipe for Red Velvet Cream Cheese brownies. I crossed my fingers, said a little prayer and made a batch. (Insert magic fairy dust noise here) Success! This recipe was so easy-peasy, moist and delicious and best yet, it’s safe to make when your baking mojo has decided to take the day off!

{photo by Freutcake | recipe via One for the Oven}

Red Velvet Cream Cheese Brownies

Red Velvet:
1 stick unsalted butter, melted
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup cocoa powder
Pinch salt
1 tablespoon red food coloring
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
2 eggs
3/4 cup all purpose flour

Cream Cheese:
8 ounces cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter an 8 x 8 inch pan. }I used glass}

Brownie layer: Add melted butter to a large bowl and add sugar, vanilla, cocoa powder, salt, food coloring, and vinegar, mixing after each addition. Whisk the eggs into the cocoa mix. Mix in the flour until lightly combined. Pour the batter into the prepared baking pan, saving 1/3 to 1/4 cup of the batter for the cream cheese layer.

Cream cheese layer: Blend together cream cheese, sugar, egg, and vanilla in a medium mixing bowl. Spread the cream cheese on top of the brownie batter in the pan. Put the remaining cocoa batter over the cream cheese layer. Using the tip of a knife, swirl through the cream cheese mixture to create a swirl pattern. Bake the brownies for 30 minutes. Remove to a cooling rack and allow them to cool completely before cutting.

To store: wrap remaining brownies in saran wrap and keep in fridge.


15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 23, 2011 9:50 am

    Lucky me, I just started the damn clean program today. So these are going into my ridiculously long list of “things to eat in 20 days”.

  2. michele prata permalink
    May 23, 2011 10:08 am

    Oh Freutcake!

    I am going to make these today to serve with my champagne toast for my Birthday tomorrow! Thanks for posting such a great inspiration! Sounds like Heaven!

    Kisses!
    Michele

  3. May 26, 2011 4:06 pm

    Oh cream cheese heaven! What a tasty and beautiful dessert 🙂

  4. One for the Oven permalink
    June 2, 2011 3:43 pm

    wooooo

  5. September 30, 2011 5:35 pm

    Did you use liquid or gel food coloring for these? I’m planning to make these for the Dexter premiere this Sunday and I want to make sure I get a super vibrant red like your lovely brownies!

    • September 30, 2011 6:09 pm

      Hi Amy! I used liquid red food coloring and they turned out very red! Also, try not to “swirl” them too much when you run your knife through because this will mix the batter and cream cheese and make a muddy looking brownie. Hope you enjoy them and have fun!

  6. Cole permalink
    October 11, 2011 3:43 pm

    They are a little too cake like and not enough brownie like for our family 😦

    • October 11, 2011 3:50 pm

      So sorry to hear that! They were very fudgy when I made them. 😦

  7. Kelsey permalink
    October 13, 2011 2:20 pm

    This may be a completeyly noob question… When you say melted butter, do you mean softened outside the fridge for a bit or completely melted in the microwave? I never know which one to do…

    • October 13, 2011 3:37 pm

      Hi Kelsey, you can either melt butter in the microwave in a microwave safe bowl or melt over low in a small sauce pan. Either way works fine. If you use the microwave check after 30 seconds and stir.

  8. October 13, 2011 8:01 pm

    I would love to make these. Did you use self rising, all purpose or cake flour. Looking forward to a reply so that I can bake them. Yummy!

    • October 13, 2011 8:10 pm

      Hi Tammy, thanks for the question! I used all-purpose flour for this recipe.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Fudgy Brownie Recipes for the Ultimate Chocolate Lover | Yummly

Leave a Reply

