Skip to content

In the Night Kitchen

January 11, 2011

My newest project, designing and illustrating a children’s book has my mind deep in storybook land. As a child I loved reading and one of my favorite books was In the Night Kitchen by Maurice Sendak. In the story a young boy dreams about falling into a night kitchen where he helps bakers bake cake for the morning. No wonder I loved this book…he bakes cake for breakfast! As an adult I still enjoy the story but I also marvel at Sendak’s use of comic book style to incorporate screaming load typography and masterful illustration. What a genius!

Illustrations by Maurice Sendak

 


Browse Inside this book
Get this for your site
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Mom permalink
    January 11, 2011 10:13 am

    What great memories this brings back! I’m very happy you’ll be working on this project.

  2. January 11, 2011 6:18 pm

    I am really excited for this project as well!

  3. Lane Culpepper permalink
    January 11, 2011 9:10 pm

    I love this book 🙂 I don’t know that I have a favorite children’s book but I remember LOVING Beatrix Potter’s books as well as Lyle the Crocodile. The artwork in both are so different but equally fantastic!

Leave a Reply

