Skip to content

Manga! Manga! Manga!

December 16, 2010

As Christmas approaches I start to look forward to, and dread, all of the holiday eating that awaits me. You see I married into a family who doesn’t know the meaning of “no thank you I’m full“.  No really…when I announced that I was full on Thanksgiving I was given another spoonful of homemade gravy by Jason’s Nanie. Eat mija Eat, it’s a holiday!

So that being said I am preparing myself for the feeding frenzy that will take place at the Lopez home on Christmas Eve. There will most likely be a standing rib roast with all of the fixing, traditional and non-traditional…and then to top it off Jason’s Nanie will be making the most delicious tamales you have ever tasted. Sigh…Nanie is right, it is a holiday and food is as much a tradition as decorating your Christmas tree. So I say go ahead, Manga, Eat, like you have a little Italian Grandmother or in my case a Mexican-tamale-wielding Grandmother in-law!

You can go back to saying no thanks I’m full after the New Year.

Photographs from series: Woman eating a plate of spaghetti by Alfred Eisenstaedt, 1941

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lane Culpepper permalink
    December 16, 2010 10:55 am

    Haha!!! Listen to your Nanie! Eat! … Just make sure you have some pepto in your purse 🙂

  2. Crystal Ashby permalink
    December 23, 2010 2:43 pm

    “Mexican-tamale-wielding Grandmother in-law”…I want one!

Leave a Reply

