Skip to content

Tulle, Light & Sugar-Plum Fairies

December 7, 2010

I’m sitting here, only half listening to the Christmas music softly playing in the background, when Tchaikovsky’s Dance of the Sugar-Plum Fairy comes on. I always love hearing this song around the holidays because it’s a “transport me back” kind of tune. It reminds me of being little and looking forward to my small parts in the yearly Nutcracker at my ballet studio where I was usually cast as some type of snowflake or flower. After practice I would sit and watch the older more accomplished dancers rehearsing their parts as The Sugar Plum Fairy, Clara and the Mouse King. I admiring their grace, how old and cool they were, and most of all I would dream of getting my hands on one of those Tutus!

For me the beauty of these photos comes from the softness and light captured, the texture of the tulle and the weight of the windows.

Photographs by Alfred Eisenstaedt of Ballerinas at the George Balanchine’s School of American Ballet in 1936.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. michele prata permalink
    December 8, 2010 9:16 am

    Oh, the sugar plum fairy!!!! My favorite!

  2. Mom permalink
    December 15, 2010 10:30 am

    Some people are “stars” without ever being the lead.

Leave a Reply

