Skip to content

Faux pas no more

November 30, 2010

Growing up we always had a fresh Christmas tree in our home and nothing less would do. So I’m not sure when I developed a love for these shiny and non-biodegradable creations. Maybe it all started the year my Mom gave in and let my sister and I get a flocked tree. It was a little cheesy, a little retro, really fun to decorate and a lot messy! But lately I have been pining for a faux tree of my very own. Not one of those fakies that look real, NO a genuine aluminum or feather tree straight out of 1960. They are crisp, modern and beautiful additions to your Christmas collection. And best yet, no water required.

Left: Ad for Reynolds Aluminum products.  Right: photo Martha Stewart Living

Left: photo Martha Stewart Living.  Right: photo Country Living

5 Comments leave one →
  1. kris kringle permalink
    November 30, 2010 9:40 am

    silver bells

  2. michele prata permalink
    November 30, 2010 12:22 pm

    I love your idea for a good looking smashing 60’s metallic Christmas Tree….!

  3. Aunt Alice permalink
    December 1, 2010 6:33 pm

    Leah – you should see my 7 foot aluminum tree that I have had for years. I even have the color wheel that goes with it. We had one when we were kids and I always loved it. I also have a 4 foot one that has a different shape on the ends of the branches than the bigger one. They are great as you don’t have to put lights on them. I either use all red or blue bulbs and it looks great – will scan you a picture if I can find one. JEALOUS???????????????????????

  4. Lane Culpepper permalink
    December 5, 2010 7:05 pm

    This year, I (VERY RELUCTANTLY) bought my very first fake tree. I was NOT happy about it at all because I have always had a real tree. Nothing beats the smell and feel of a fresh cut Noble Fir, and I have always thought that fake trees look tacky. However, after I “fluffed” my tree and decorated it, surprise!!! I absolutely LOVE it! I guess a fake tree isn’t so bad after all 🙂

Leave a Reply

