Skip to content

Vintage Jello

November 24, 2010

In my family salad could either refer to lettuce or a jiggly mound of fruit and nut filled Jello. (With the occasional cream cheese topping) My first encounter with Jello salad was on summer trips to visit my Grandparents in West Virginia. There my sister and I discovered the wonders of all types of salad, jello, ham, pimento…the list is long. But back to Jello! As Jason and I pack and prepare for a trip home for Thanksgiving, I was given the task of bringing the Jello salad to his Grandmother’s house. Two dishes of Jello to be exact because Jason’s family is made up of a few professional Jello-Eating-Uncles. So I will boil the water, chop the nuts open the cans of Bing cherries and hope to enlist my Grandma Elaine’s Jello making skills. Have a Happy Thanksgiving!

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lane Culpepper permalink
    November 24, 2010 12:50 pm

    PIMENTO!!!! haha sooooo nasty! 🙂 I do love a nice jello salad though.

  2. michele prata permalink
    November 26, 2010 11:45 am

    “I wish I could just go back to Bing Crosby and a bowl full of green jello in front of the black n white TV when life was so easy…” ( I wrote this in my college creative writing class in ’81….)

Leave a Reply

