Skip to content

Sliders & Special Sauce

November 17, 2010

Yippie Kay Yay Mini Sirloin Burgers…Tonight Jason and I made sliders for dinner with my special dipping sauce (aka some concoction I threw together), a side of sweet potato fries and a spinach salad with candied pecans and cranberries. I usually opt for the more “healthy” turkey burger but tonight we went all out and it was so worth it! These sliders are stuffed with gorgonzola cheese, topped with caramelized onions and finished with arugula. Is your mouth watering yet? This is a new favorite in the Bergman house so I had to share my recipe:

Ingredients:

2 lbs lean ground beef
2 Tbs Worcestershire sauce
freshly ground black pepper
6 ounces crumbled Gorgonzola
12 small buns (Trader Joe’s)
4 ounces baby arugula

Directions:

Sauté thinly sliced onions in butter ahead of time until caramelized for serving.

Place the ground beef in a large bowl, add Worcestershire sauce and mix. Shape the meat into 24 (1-inch) patties of equal size and thickness. Place about 1 tsp gorgonzola cheese on half (12) of the rounds. Cover the cheese with the other 12 patties and seal edges thoroughly.

Heat grill pan to medium-hot, spray with Pam to keep the sliders from sticking. Season both sides of slider patties with pepper and place on the grill cooking for 4 minutes. Turn the sliders over with a spatula and cook for another 4 to 6 minutes, until medium-rare, or cook longer if you prefer the sliders more well done. Remove the sliders to a platter and cover with foil.

Toast the buns cut side down on the grill.

On a large platter arrange buns and brush with special sauce. Top with one slider patty, caramelized onions and arugula. Cover with the top of the bun and serve hot with a side of sweet potato fries and more special sauce for dipping.

For the Special Sauce combine:

I never measure these ingredients so just add them to taste!

2 Tbs Ketchup
2 Tbs Mayonnaise
1 clove minced garlic
1 Tbs Sweet chili sauce
Squeeze of lemon
Salt & pepper to taste

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mr. Papajorgio permalink
    November 17, 2010 8:13 pm

    What a treat! The best sliders ever.

  2. Aunt Alice permalink
    November 17, 2010 8:20 pm

    you are becoming quite the cook sweetie. They sound good even for someone that doesn’t eat beef. Could you make them with either ground turkey or chicken?????? I found some recipes that are to die for so I will send them to you later. If you decide to try any of them. let me know how they turn out.

  3. November 17, 2010 8:25 pm

    Yes they would be really good with ground turkey meat and the gorgonzola cheese would give the turkey more flavor! Send me your recipes, I would love to try them. xoxo

  4. michele prata permalink
    November 17, 2010 11:39 pm

    Oh great, now my mouth is watering and I won’t be able to sleep until I awake and make these for lunch tomorrow! Wheels will start screeching at the earliest I can get up and put on some pants! You are making me crazy Mrs. Bergman! How do you do it!!!

  5. Lane Culpepper permalink
    November 18, 2010 11:16 am

    I’m literally drooling right now. I always love your cooking, but this looks extra delicious! I love that you put the recipes up for people to try 🙂 Thanks Martha!

Leave a Reply

